The Playoffs:
AFI Awards

Updated 1/05/02: Winners
The AFI (American Film Institute) nominations, courtesy Variety: award ceremony to be televised 1/5/02 on CBS. (Television nominations are also out for the same show; see this page for the full list.) Updated: Winners are added in red. TV winners are listed beneath the film awards in order of presentation.

A Beautiful Mind -- producers, Brian Grazer, Ron Howard (Universal/DreamWorks)

Black Hawk Down -- producers, Jerry Bruckheimer, Ridley Scott (Columbia)

In the Bedroom -- producers, Graham Leader, Ross Katz, Todd Field (Miramax)

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring -- producers, Barrie M. Osborne, Peter Jackson, Fran Walsh, Tim Sanders (New Line)

The Man Who Wasn't There -- producer, Ethan Coen (USA Films)

Memento -- producers, Jennifer Todd, Suzanne Todd (Newmarket)

Monster's Ball -- producer, Lee Daniels (Lions Gate)

Moulin Rouge -- producers, Martin Brown, Baz Luhrmann, Fred Baron (20th Century Fox)

Mulholland Drive -- producers, Mary Sweeney, Alain Sarde, Neal Edelstein, Michael Polaire, Tony Krantz (Universal Focus)

Shrek -- producers, Aron Warner, John H. Williams, Jeffrey Katzenberg (DreamWorks)


Russell Crowe, A Beautiful Mind

Billy Bob Thornton, The Man Who Wasn't There

Denzel Washington, Training Day

Tom Wilkinson, In the Bedroom


Halle Berry, Monster's Ball

Stockard Channing, The Business of Strangers

Sissy Spacek, In the Bedroom

Naomi Watts, Mulholland Drive


Steve Buscemi, Ghost World

Brian Cox, L.I.E.

Gene Hackman, The Royal Tenenbaums

Tony Shalhoub, The Man Who Wasn't There


Cate Blanchett, Bandits

Jennifer Connelly, A Beautiful Mind

Cameron Diaz, Vanilla Sky

Frances O'Connor, A.I.: Artificial Intelligence


Robert Altman, Gosford Park

Todd Field, In the Bedroom

David Lynch, Mulholland Drive

Ridley Scott, Black Hawk Down


Daniel Clowes, Terry Zwigoff, Ghost World

Rob Festinger, Todd Field, In the Bedroom

Akiva Goldsman, A Beautiful Mind

Christopher Nolan, Memento


Ericson Core, The Fast and the Furious

Roger Deakins, The Man Who Wasn't There

Slawomir Idziak, Black Hawk Down

Janusz Kaminski, A.I. Artificial Intelligence


Jill Bilcock, Moulin Rouge

Dody Dorn, Memento

Pietro Scalia, Black Hawk Down

Tim Squyres, Gosford Park


Stephen Altman, Gosford Park

Rick Carter, A.I. Artificial Intelligence

Grant Major, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Arthur Max, Black Hawk Down


Scott Farrar, Dennis Muren, A.I. Artificial Intelligence

Robert Legato, Nick Davis, Roger Guyett, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

Jim Rygiel, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Bob Sabiston, Waking Life


Craig Armstrong, Moulin Rouge

Angelo Badalamenti, Mulholland Drive

Patrick Doyle, Gosford Park

Howard Shore, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

For those of you keeping's who won the TV categories (in order of presentation--we're just typing with the ceremony on TV here, kids). The complete nomination list is at

Best Actor in a TV Miniseries: Geoffrey Wright, Boycott

Best Actress in a TV Miniseries: Judy Davis, Me and My Shadows (accepted by "Judy Garland's daughter," presumably Lorna Luft, as Judy Davis could not attend). Interestingly, the actress who played the young Judy Garland (Davis played the older, if you haven't caught that yet) was nominated against Davis.

Best Actress in a TV Series: Edie Falco, The Sopranos (as presenter Dennis Franz noted, somewhat sheepishly, actresses in both comedies and dramas, leads and supporting, were all tossed together in this category. Our question is, why did the American Film Institute bother to honor television if it was going to do it so half-assedly?)

Best Actor in a TV Series: James Gandolfini, The Sopranos (see note above for similar "grab-bag" quality)

Best Drama Series: The Sopranos

Movie or Miniseries of the Year:
Band of Brothers

Comedy Series of the Year: Curb Your Enthusiasm (Whoa, shock winner--this really ain't your grandma's award show)

Disagree with the AFI's picks? Call the critics out on the message board!
Full Yahoo coverage

Photos at Yahoo
"Wood, I can't believe we just had to say that."
Sean Astin and Elijah Wood, introducing the LOTR clip above, are forced to per-form inanely scripted banter about their LOTR tattoos. But it all pays off in the end.
Sissy Spacek accepts the Best Actress award for her performance in In the Bedroom. This--and a spate of other laurels--puts her as, in essence, the (current) front runner for the Oscar.
Memento for Screenwriter Best for award the accepts Nolan Christopher director/ writer.
We were going to post more winners' pictures, but turns out there aren't many--not many stars showed up, causing the press to dub this the "MIA Awards."